Print
Is your domain name being registered in China?
06/11/2009 – 5:47 pm by John GilesPerhaps you have also received the email, or perhaps you will. It is an email from the “department of registration service in China“, along the lines of:
“… We formally received an application on [date]. One company “[name of the company]” are applying to register “[your company or trade name]” as an internet brand and CN domain names as below:“
Several domains are then listed for your company or trade name for example .asia, .cn, .com.cn, .net.cn, .org.cn etc.
The email then continues to say:
“After our initial examination, we found that the internet brand applied for registration is the same as your company’s name and trademark. … If your company and this”[name of company]“is the same company, there is no need reply to us. We will accept their application and will register those for them immediately. If your company has no relationships with that company nor do not authorized, please reply to us within 7 work days, if we can’t get any information from yours over 7 workdays, we will unconditionally approve the application submitted by “[name of company].“
It looks very believable. But, don’t be fooled - it is a hoax.
- Log in on the right if you have already registered OR
- Register now if your are an existing Michalsons Client and we will notify you by email once access has been approved after we have authenticated you.

Sorry, comments for this entry are closed at this time.